Aah… I might as well

After two weeks in the Culinary Program, and getting to know more about school, the chefs, their teaching methodology, the events and the networks, I decided to stay and finish the One-Year Program and continue with the Pastry Course.  I had already made a change in life, so I might as well complete what I had started.  From Culinary, I learned that we have to get rid of fears, doubts and limitations, so we can create our own, an example is the picture below: Salmon in a eatable sugar sphere.

sugarsphere.jpg

Seeing the enthusiasm and ownership of all Chefs, makes me feel secure that they will always look after our best interest and learning experience.

Seeing the enthusiasm and ownership of all Chefs, makes me feel secure that they will always look after our best interest and learning experience. So yes, going to Northwest Culinary Academy of Vancouver, has been THE BEST decision of my entire life (not so old yet).

I discovered I love pastries, bread and specially sharing it with others, so I will dedicate my entire life in making people happy – by fulfilling their sugary cravings.  As a mexican, my family has always said that ¨pastry bread lessens sadness in tough times¨.

You know you are making the right things in life, when you find notes like this:

nota

 

You might not believe it, but this entremet made me cry. The reason?  I worked so hard on it, I planned every single inch of it, even though I was told I wouldn´t be able to make it.  This entremet is a Dark-Chocolate Cherry Bavaroise, with a creme brulee in the middle.  I was told a thousand times (might be exaggerating a thousand times) that the creme brulee was not going to work, and that I should forget that idea, which worked the opposite way, it made me want to prove to my teacher I could do it and I DID IT.

I worked with lots of different techniques such as chocolate tempering, infusing creams for creme brulee, meringues for macaroons, and a bit more.

cherry entremet

So, as soon as this was done, I took the picture, went to the bathroom and cried.

 

Yes, I cried in the kitchen bathroom. So for whoever tells you they´ve never cried in the kitchen… call BS on them!

Leave a comment